Back on track

I can’t believe how wonderful it feels to have spent time in my new sewing room. I was so thoroughly enjoying it and it was a shame that I had to come out and live my other life too (not that I don’t enjoy my other life, but the world of sewing is so therapeutic and I can’t get enough of it).  I’m happy to say that I think I’m back to stay, although my daughter has mentioned that she would like to come home for 3 weeks at the end of June… does this mean that I have to pack all my sewing away during that time to make room for her bed?  Surely she’ll be OK with sleeping under the ironing board!! LOL

Yesterday I whipped up another skirt using my skirt block as a basis and you’ll notice that this skirt isn’t a pencil skirt… it’s an A-line skirt and it’s made with 7 gores. In hind sight, I should have made it an 8 gore skirt but chose to place the centre front panel on a fold.

RTW skirt block 041I don’t really have time today to explain how I used my skirt block to create this simple pattern but for those that are interested, I will sit down during the next week and show the workings so you can also start creating various skirt patterns. Please let me know if it interests you to see the workings for this pattern.  For now I will just show you a few photos so you know that I’m definitely back into the swing of my sewing and I’m loving it so much.

RTW skirt block 018RTW skirt block 013

The fabric I used is a wool blend and it was so easy to work with – I think I really like sewing winter clothes because they have more bulk and are not as slippery or flimsy to work with.

RTW skirt block 001And believe it or not I actually enjoyed sewing in the lapped zipper and OMG, isn’t Steam-a-Seam such a wonderful product??!!  How did I survive all these years of sewing without that incredible tool in my kit?  It worked so well in holding the zipper in the correct place without the use of pins that tend to distort the accuracy. Absolutely loved it and am so pleased with the end result.

RTW skirt block 025Oh, and did I mention that the skirt is fully lined in red Bemsilk lining???  I LOVE that touch too!  So racy in an otherwise boring skirt.  Boring or not, I love the skirt and know that I will get plenty of use out of it during the cooler months to come. It’s warm and the fit is perfect, although I would probably make it slightly shorter next time.

So who has had an attempt at creating their own skirt block using my spreadsheets?  Seriously, it only takes about 20 minutes to do and then once you’re happy with the block’s fit, you can start designing other skirts.  I’d love to hear any feedback on the spreadsheets and if you’re confused or have any questions, please don’t be shy.  There’s no such thing as a silly question! (remember learning that at school??) LOL

Happy sewing everyone!  I’m off to clean my house!

12 thoughts on “Back on track

  1. Love, love your skirt! I am definitely interested in how you did it. I have worked up a block using your spreadsheet. It fits well and I plan to use it to make myself some skirts.

    • Thanks Laura, I am loving this skirt too and am wearing it to death. I will be making a new one, different pattern, very soon…. oh, if only I had more time!

  2. I am about to make my skirt block and then help two friends who want to learn and make their first skirts ;-) I would definitely be interested in knowing how you used the block to make your panelled skirt.

    • I’m really excited to read that you’re also going to help a couple of friends with my method. You’ll be amazed at how well it all comes together once you have some basic understanding. Thanks for following! :)

  3. Lovely skirt – and such a perfect fit on you! The lining is such a fabulous color – what a great way to use it! Having seen this, I will play around with your spreadsheet and let you know how I get on!

    • Thanks Lorraine, I’m so glad to have inspired you too. I know many people had the belief that these skirt blocks (slopers) were all about pencil skirts and let’s face it, pencil skirts are not for everyone…. BUT the skirt block is about your body and making ANY style skirt to fit you with one or two basic tools. Stay tuned for more ideas.

Leave a Reply

