Progress

OK, finally got back into my couture dress and I’m pleased to announce that I have finished the fashion fabric, zipper and hemming and I only have to LINE the dress before it’s finished!! It’s been such a slow process with moments of frustration and loss of interest but I can now finally see a light at the end of the tunnel. Here’s how it looks on at this stage:

Sorry for not looking up but I’ll do a proper photo shoot once it’s lined and totally finished and hopefully I’ll find some nicer shoes soon too! (did I ever mention that I’ve been having problems with my feet over the past 4 months? Morton’s Neuroma is what I have and the pain in walking has been intense but I’ve had 4 ethanol injections directly into the neuroma which has helped so much and hopefully soon I’ll be able to buy standard shoes again… fingers crossed)

In this photo you see what the insides of the dress look like, the huge seam allowances which, surprisingly, sit very flat and comfortable. The entire dress is underlined so all stitches are invisible on the outside as everything is “catch-stitched” onto the underlining only.

You can also see the zipper has been fitted but it’s a bit long and I need to find where it is in the course that I saw a tutorial on how to shorten the zipper. Apparently easy to do.

Oh, and did I mention that the zipper has been hand sewn in place? Here’s a close-up of the stitches which are virtually invisible, had I only used the pink thread. I am actually considering re-doing the stitches because I forgot to coat the original thread with bees wax. How crucial is that stage? Ummmm, I don’t think I’m prepared to risk NOT doing this considering the amount of work I’ve already put into this dress so I am definitely going to replace the thread.

Either way, my enthusiasm has returned. Hopefully more soon. :)

Leave a Reply

